FBA detail configuration

Topics: Internet/Extranet Edition
Jul 21, 2008 at 10:07 AM
Edited Jul 21, 2008 at 10:09 AM
Hi,

I'm a newbie here. I don't really know how to configure FBA.

I want to add a forms based authentication.
When I want to test it out. I have a problem with the <membership> and <rolemanager>. How to configure these two? Is it ok by copying and pasting only? Because when I copy and paste that part to my web.config of the central administration, I get an error when I click the application management.
Page: http://sharepoint/_admin/applications.aspx
Error message: Unknown error.

Please help.
Jul 22, 2008 at 2:38 AM
Any web.config sample?
Developer
Jul 24, 2008 at 7:10 AM
Edited Jul 24, 2008 at 8:04 AM
The best way to configure well the FBA is to follow the excellent post by Dan Attis: http://www.devcow.com/blogs/jdattis/archive/2007/02/23/Office-SharePoint-Server-2007-Forms-Based-Authentication-FBA-Walkthrough-Part-1.aspx

Pay attention to where do you paste those tags. They MUST go inside the "connectionStrings" elements (for connection strings) and "system.web" (for the providers).

Jul 24, 2008 at 2:51 PM
Hi like the previous post I too am a newbie here i was wondering how do i convert the latest source code of FBA into a solution file (wsp).is there a download i go to or instructions i could follow, or (i know this is presumptious but) would some one be able to email me the wsp. the download still reports the one from Oct/Nov but i have found some quirks and would like to see the improvements that have been made, thanks in advance ;)
Nov 5, 2008 at 2:20 PM
Edited Nov 6, 2008 at 8:30 AM
hi,

after installing FBA successfully, also figuring out how to get FBAManagementSelf Feature activated i'm struggling with the Webpartpages.

1. I can't find the Admin Web Parts - there are just the FBAManagementSelf Ones available.