How to deploy cks kit

Topics: Internet/Extranet Edition
Aug 27, 2008 at 11:18 PM
Sorry to sound stupid, i just downloaded the CKS kit and i am trying create external collaboration site for sharepoint.  How do i deploy the kit for ECTS?  I am new to this process.  Thanks for the help.
Aug 27, 2008 at 11:21 PM
Can someone provide me step by step to do this?  Thank you
Developer
Aug 28, 2008 at 3:17 AM
The ECTS releases page has an extremely detailed deployment guide:

http://www.codeplex.com/CKS/Release/ProjectReleases.aspx?ReleaseId=15529

Regards,
Mike Sharp
Aug 28, 2008 at 5:57 PM
Edited Aug 28, 2008 at 5:58 PM
Thank you Mike, i will give that a try today.  Also after downloading the newest source code, there is the ECTS folder and other sub folders within the ECTS folder.  What do i do with that?  Im still learning this, so i apologize if I am asking so many questions.  Thanks
Developer
Aug 28, 2008 at 6:17 PM
I think the MSI installer for ECTS should be pretty stable.  Why not just use that, rather than compile from source?  It would be a lot easier, I think, and there haven't been any changes since then.

If you must use the source, work from the PackageSolution folder.  The others will be needed but the build scripts will get what they need, as long as you have everything there.

Mike
Aug 28, 2008 at 6:51 PM
Thanks Mike , much appreciated.
Aug 28, 2008 at 9:01 PM
I successfully installed ECTS to my sharepoint environment.  When adding an external user to a website, when checking to see if they are registered.  I get a message saying "Unable to establish a secure connection with the server"  Any ideas?
Developer
Aug 28, 2008 at 9:22 PM