SQL denies access to the FBA Database.

Jan 16, 2009 at 1:21 AM
Edited Jan 16, 2009 at 1:22 AM
Can somebody help me with an issue setting up FBA?

I followed the steps in the article Office SharePoint Server 2007 - Forms Based Authentication (FBA) Walk-through - Part 1.

After all is done and I try to login to the FBA Sharepoint site I get permission denied error in both SQL logs and the Windows logs on the SQL box.

== SQL Application Log ERRORS ===
Login failed for user ''. The user is not associated with a trusted SQL Server connection. [CLIENT: 192.168.200.10]

SSPI handshake failed with error code 0x8009030c while establishing a connection with integrated security; the connection has been closed. [CLIENT: 192.168.200.10]

==

All accounts all have ( even admin ) access to both the FBA database and SQL itself.

Also the Application Pool for the Sharepoint App also , has all admin access to SQL.

I am not very good with ASP / SQL , What is trying to connect and is failing ?
Developer
Jan 16, 2009 at 2:58 PM
It's hard for me to say what might be wrong here...is the SQL Server on a separate machine?  If so, you'll need to use a domain account to connect via a trusted connection.  If you don't have a domain controller, then you'll need to set up SQL authentication, not a trusted connection.  Usually when you see this error, the account used by the App Pool doesn't have access to the membership database.   Double-check that the account has a mapping explicitly to the database.  Start out with the database owner permission; once you get it running you can actually restrict some of the permissions if you wish.

How does SharePoint connect to the database?